Menu

Clinics and manufacturers for ATMPs and tissue preparations
in Germany, EU, USA, Canada, Japan, Switzerland

To date, there is no official PEI or FDA page that makes manufacturers of ATMPs with GMP/GFP authorizations easy to find. InCelligence therefore lists clinics, medical institutions, and companies here, ordered according to the principle of patient safety, GMP/GFP/SOHO status, and regulatory authority controls. Germany / the EU regulate more strictly than the USA, etc. Listings on this page are not subject to payment.

As of: 17.09.2026. This overview does not include clinical trials, as these can be easily found at https://clinicaltrials.gov/ The regulatory status refers to publicly verifiable approvals, authorizations, manufacturing authorizations, and certificates. Evidence that cannot be found publicly does not automatically mean that a treatment is illegal. The overview is continuously expanded; despite systematic research, completeness cannot be guaranteed.

 

The InCelligence listing order and its criteria

The order is based on InCelligence criteria according to the degree of regulatory assurance and regulatory authority control. It is assumed that additional regulatory controls can increase the level of safety. Efficacy is deliberately excluded from the ranking, as Safety and Efficacy are two separate areas and can result in different rankings. The ranking is based on safety categories from GMP regulations and logical deductions derived from them. 

  • Level 1: approved medicinal products = highest level of regulatory assurance according to InCelligence criteria (approved medicines, marketing authorization)
    • The longer the medicinal product has been approved, the more long-term experience may be available, as long-term adverse effects may only be recognized late after approval 
  • Level 2: additional product-specific regulatory authorization as well as GMP status for ATMPs/TEPs and regulated GFP status for tissue preparations
    • Section 4b AMG authorization by the Paul-Ehrlich-Institut for ATMPs as an additional level of regulatory control for supply to others under the Hospital Exemption
    • Section 21a AMG authorization by the Paul-Ehrlich-Institut for tissue preparations as an additional product-specific level of regulatory control
    • procurement and manufacturing authorization under Sections 20b and 13 AMG for ATMPs in Germany, analogous in other countries 
    • procurement as well as processing and handling authorization under Sections 20b and 20c AMG for tissue preparations in Germany, analogous in other countries 
  • Level 3: GMP status for ATMPs/TEPs and regulated GFP status for tissue preparations without additional product-specific Section 4b or Section 21a authorization
    • No Section 4b AMG authorization is necessary if the ATMP is not supplied to others
    • procurement and manufacturing authorization under Sections 20b and 13 AMG for ATMPs in Germany, analogous in other countries 
    • procurement as well as processing and handling authorization under Sections 20b and 20c AMG for tissue preparations in Germany, analogous in other countries 
  • Level 4: Providers with significant regulatory warning signs or contradictory regulatory information, without illegality being inferred from this alone
  • Level 5: no comprehensible regulatory status, no publicly verifiable certificates or authorizations, potentially illegal

 

The search for clinic or company names as well as diseases or areas of application can be performed using Ctrl+F: then enter the search term.

 

Germany: Regularly approved ATMPs and tissue preparations

Level 1: According to the InCelligence criteria, this category has the highest level of regulatory assurance. In addition to controlled manufacturing, a regular medicinal product approval includes a regulatory assessment of the specific medicinal product, including quality, safety, and efficacy, as well as ongoing monitoring after approval. The classification describes the level of regulatory assurance and not the efficacy for an individual patient.

NameProductIndicationRegulatory status
CO.DON GmbH, Leipzig Spherox – autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes; Tissue Engineered Product (ATMP) Symptomatic articular cartilage defects of the femoral condyle and patella of the knee Regular EU approval: yes, EU/1/17/1181, 10.07.2017. Approval authority: European Commission following the EMA procedure. GMP: yes, required for manufacturing the ATMP. Approval evidence online: yes.

 

D: ATMPs and tissue preparations with additional product-specific authorization under Section 4b or Section 21a AMG

Level 2: In addition to authority-controlled manufacturing or processing, the specific product has a further authorization from the Paul-Ehrlich-Institut. For ATMPs, this is in particular the authorization under Section 4b AMG for supply to others under the Hospital Exemption; for tissue preparations, the authorization under Section 21a AMG is the additional product-specific level of control. This additional regulatory review is the basis for classification above manufacturing controlled exclusively under GMP/GFP.

NameProductIndicationRegulatory status
Mukocell GmbH, Dortmund MukoCell® – autologous, cultured oral mucosal cells; Tissue Engineered Product (ATMP) Reconstruction of urethral strictures Regular EU marketing authorization: no. Authorization under Section 4b(3) AMG: yes, PEI.A.12195.01.1, 24.04.2024. Authorizing authority: Paul-Ehrlich-Institut. GMP: required for manufacturing the ATMP. Section 4b evidence online: yes.
TETEC AG, Reutlingen NOVOCART® Inject – autologous, in vitro expanded human chondrocytes; Tissue Engineered Product (ATMP) Localized articular cartilage defects, particularly of the knee Regular EU marketing authorization: no. Authorization under Section 4b(3) AMG: yes, PEI.A.11763.01.1. Original authorization 27.06.2016; renewed authorization under the same number 13.01.2023. Authorizing authority: Paul-Ehrlich-Institut. GMP: required for manufacturing the ATMP. Evidence online: yes.
TETEC AG, Reutlingen NOVOCART® 3D – autologous chondrocyte implant; Tissue Engineered Product (ATMP) Localized full-thickness articular cartilage defects Regular EU marketing authorization: no. Authorization under Section 4b(3) AMG: yes, PEI.A.11511.01.1, 29.08.2014. Authorizing authority: Paul-Ehrlich-Institut. GMP: required for manufacturing the ATMP. Evidence online: yes.
CO.DON GmbH, Leipzig co.don chondrosphere® – autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes; Tissue Engineered Product (ATMP) Treatment of articular cartilage defects Regular EU marketing authorization for this national product: no. Authorization under Section 4b(3) AMG: yes, PEI.A.11507.01.1, 12.12.2013. Authorizing authority: Paul-Ehrlich-Institut. GMP: required for manufacturing the ATMP. Evidence online: yes.
RHEACELL GmbH & Co. KG, Heidelberg AMESANAR® – allogeneic ABCB5-positive mesenchymal stromal cells; somatic cell therapy medicinal product Non-healing chronic venous ulcers in chronic venous insufficiency Central EU marketing authorization: no. Authorization under Section 4b(3) AMG: yes, PEI.A.12060.01.1, 27.09.2021. Authorizing authority: Paul-Ehrlich-Institut. GMP: yes. Section 4b evidence online: yes.
medac Gesellschaft für klinische Spezialpräparate mbH, Wedel Obnitix® – allogeneic mesenchymal stromal cells from bone marrow Treatment-refractory acute graft-versus-host disease Regular marketing authorization: no. Authorization under Section 4b AMG: yes, PEI.A.11748.01.1, 24.08.2016. Authorizing authority: Paul-Ehrlich-Institut. Use exclusively on a directed basis in Germany. GMP: manufacturing of the ATMP under GMP. Product information and authorization evidence online: yes.
DRK-Blutspendedienst Baden-Württemberg – Hessen gGmbH, Mannheim Allogeneic IL-15-activated cytokine-induced killer cells (CIK cells), fresh or cryopreserved Cellular immunotherapy, particularly for high-risk leukemias after allogeneic stem cell transplantation Authorization under Section 4b(3) AMG: yes, PEI.A.11630.01.1. Authorization in its current form dated 15.04.2021. Authorizing authority: Paul-Ehrlich-Institut. GMP: yes. Official Section 4b evidence online: yes.
Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg, Medizinische Klinik V – GMP Core Facility HD-CAR-19 (Heidagen-lecleucel) – autologous CD19 CAR-T cells Patient-specific CD19 CAR-T-cell therapy according to the approved product information Regular EU marketing authorization: no. Authorization under Section 4b AMG: yes, PEI.A.12181.01.1, 18.09.2025. Authorization holder: Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg, Medizinische Klinik V – GMP Core Facility. Authorizing authority: Paul-Ehrlich-Institut. GMP: yes. Current product information as of January 2026 available online.
Labor Dr. Gansauge GmbH, Berg LANEX-DC® – autologous dendritic cells Patient-specific immunotherapy for various tumor diseases Regular marketing authorization: no. Section 4b AMG authorization: according to the manufacturer, yes; the authorization number and authorization date could not yet be clearly verified publicly for this overview. Manufacturing authorization: according to the manufacturer, yes. GMP: yes, GMP certificate DE_BW_01_GMP_2021_0171, 2021. Competent medicinal products authority in Baden-Württemberg. Certificates on the website: partially online.
Klinikum der Universität München Allogeneic bone marrow stem cell preparations, including allogeneic bone marrow and erythrocyte-reduced bone marrow Hematopoietic stem cell transplantation Product-specific PEI authorization: yes. For example, allogeneic bone marrow, PEI.G.04112.01.1, 17.01.2012, and allogeneic erythrocyte-reduced bone marrow, PEI.G.04112.02.1, 17.01.2012. Authorizing authority: Paul-Ehrlich-Institut. Official evidence online: yes.
Medizinische Hochschule Hannover, Cellular Therapy Centre Autologous and allogeneic bone marrow stem cell preparations Hematopoietic stem cell transplantation Product-specific PEI authorizations: yes. For example, allogeneic bone marrow MHH, PEI.G.04104.01.1 to PEI.G.04104.04.1, 09.11.2011; autologous bone marrow MHH cryopreserved, PEI.G.04103.01.1, 28.11.2011. Authorizing authority: Paul-Ehrlich-Institut. Evidence online: yes.
Klinikum Nürnberg Autologous and allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell preparations Hematopoietic stem cell transplantation Product-specific PEI approvals/authorizations: yes. For example, autologous peripheral blood stem cells, PEI.G.04256.01.1, 02.12.2011, as well as allogeneic stem cell preparations under additional PEI authorization numbers. Authorizing authority: Paul-Ehrlich-Institut. Evidence online: yes.
Universitätsmedizin Göttingen Allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell preparations from bone marrow Hematopoietic stem cell transplantation Product-specific PEI authorizations: yes. For example, PEI.B.11970.01.1, 07.05.2018, and PEI.B.12014.01.1, 05.06.2019. Authorizing authority: Paul-Ehrlich-Institut. Evidence online: yes.
Universitätsklinikum Aachen AöR Allogeneic blood stem cells from bone marrow, erythrocyte- and plasma-depleted Hematopoietic stem cell transplantation Product-specific PEI authorization: yes, PEI.G.11946.02.1, 12.05.2020. Authorizing authority: Paul-Ehrlich-Institut. Evidence online: yes.
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Gewebetransplantation gGmbH, Hannover LaMEK preloaded – ready-to-use corneal transplant for DMEK Descemet Membrane Endothelial Keratoplasty (DMEK) Authorized human tissue preparation under Section 21a(1) AMG: yes, PEI.G.12063.01.1, 21.04.2021. Authorizing authority: Paul-Ehrlich-Institut. GFP/tissue-law-controlled manufacturing and processing. Official authorization evidence online: yes.

 

D: Authority-controlled manufacturing of ATMPs / tissue preparations under GMP or GFP without additional Section 4b or Section 21a authorization

Level 3: Manufacturing or processing and handling is subject to regulatory authorization, inspections, and regulated quality management under GMP or GFP. An additional product-specific authorization under Section 4b AMG is not required for an ATMP if it is not supplied to others. The level of regulatory assurance is classified below Level 2 because there is no additional product-specific PEI authorization for supply to others.

NameProductIndicationRegulatory status
ANOVA Institute for Regenerative Medicine GmbH, Offenbach BMC – Bone Marrow Concentrate; autologous ATMP Patient-specific treatment of joints (knee, hip, finger) and spine, ED,   Regular marketing authorization: no. Manufacturing authorization under Section 13 AMG: yes, DE_HE_01_MIA_2022_0094. GMP: yes, DE_HE_01_GMP_2025_0046, 2025. Supervising authority: Regierungspräsidium Darmstadt, now HLfGP. Section 4b AMG: no; no supply of the ATMP to others. Certificates/evidence online: yes.
ANOVA Institute for Regenerative Medicine GmbH, Offenbach MSEC – autologous MSC secretome with extracellular vesicles/exosomes; tissue preparation Patient-specific applications for spinal cord injuries (SCI), ALS, MS, PD, ED Authorizations under Sections 20b and 20c AMG: yes, DE-RPDA-18L18.01-1703-B-1-O, since 2018. GFP: yes. Supervising authority: Regierungspräsidium Darmstadt, now HLfGP. Registration as a tissue establishment: yes, EU Tissue Establishment Compendium. New SoHO Regulation (EU) 2024/1938 generally applicable from 07.08.2027. Certificates/evidence online: yes.
Immun-Onkologisches Zentrum Köln (IOZK), Köln IO-VAC® – patient-specific anti-tumor dendritic cell vaccine from autologous monocytes, the patient’s own tumor antigens, and immunological danger signals Patient-specific immuno-oncological treatment of tumor diseases Manufacturing authorization under Section 13 AMG: according to publicly available information from IOZK, yes. GMP: yes; its own GMP manufacturing laboratory and cleanroom area. IOZK describes itself as the holder of a Section 13 manufacturing authorization for the specific anti-tumor dendritic cell vaccine. A specific Section 4b authorization number could not be publicly verified for this overview. The supervising authority and current certificate number should still be added for the final classification based on the official GMP evidence.

 

Germany: Unclear regulatory status – potentially illegal

Stufe 5: This is the lowest level of publicly traceable regulatory assurance. The providers describe cell, stem cell, SVF, or comparable treatments, while a relevant approval, authorization, manufacturing authorization, or GMP/GFP evidence could not be clearly identified publicly. Missing public evidence does not automatically mean that a treatment is illegal; “potentially illegal” refers exclusively to the possibility that a required regulatory basis is missing.

NameProductIndicationRegulatory status / notable findings
ROC Regeneratives Centrum, Aschheim bei München MFAT/SVF from autologous adipose tissue; additionally, other procedures using the patient’s own material described as stem cell therapies Osteoarthritis, cartilage damage, tendon and ligament injuries, as well as other orthopedic applications Status unclear. The website describes the collection of adipose tissue, processing in its in-house laboratory, and subsequent injection, as well as, depending on the procedure, the isolation of a stromal vascular fraction. A specific approval, Section 4b authorization, Section 13 manufacturing authorization, Sections 20b/20c authorization, or GMP/GFP certificate with authority, identifier, and date was not publicly stated on the pages reviewed. Whether an ATMP, a tissue preparation, or an autologous procedure requiring a different classification is involved in an individual case depends in particular on the specific processing procedure and intended function. Illegality not established.
EZZ – Exzellenzzentrum Regenerative Orthopädie Bonn SVF – stem-cell-rich stromal vascular fraction from autologous adipose tissue Osteoarthritis, tendinitis, partial tendon tears, muscle and ligament injuries, as well as nerve inflammation Status unclear. The website describes obtaining a stem-cell-rich fraction from the patient’s own fat and injecting it into joints, muscles, or around nerves. A specific medicinal product or tissue-law authorization with authority, identifier, and date, as well as GMP/GFP evidence, was not stated on the reviewed service page. The regulatory classification depends on the actual manufacturing procedure. Illegality not established.
Privatpraxis Dr. med. Meike Diessner / Dr. med. Wilko Aeishen, Bochum Mesenchymal stem/progenitor cells obtained from abdominal fat, combined with ACP Primarily advanced osteoarthritis of the knee and ankle Status unclear. The website explicitly describes the isolation of progenitor cells from abdominal fat and the injection of mesenchymal stem cells and describes the procedure as “approved.” However, the reviewed page does not state which specific regulatory approval or authorization is meant, including the authority, legal basis, identifier, and date. GMP/GFP: not publicly documented there. Illegality not established; the specific regulatory basis should be requested or verified with the authority.
Dr. med. Matthias Knöringer SVF – stromal vascular fraction from autologous adipose tissue, combined with ACP In particular osteoarthritis and other tissue damage Status unclear. The described procedure includes fat collection, several processing steps to obtain an SVF enriched with mesenchymal stem cells, and subsequent intra-articular application. A specific approval, Section 4b authorization, manufacturing authorization, or GMP/GFP certificate with authority, identifier, and date was not stated on the reviewed page. Illegality not established.
Zentrum für Orthopädie und Unfallchirurgie am Schloss, Neuwied ACF-SVF – stromal vascular fraction obtained from autologous adipose tissue with mesenchymal stem cells Regenerative treatment of orthopedic tissue damage Status unclear. The website describes liposuction, centrifugation, separation of the SVF, further processing steps, mixing with the patient’s own blood, and subsequent injection. A specific medicinal product or tissue-law authorization, as well as GMP/GFP evidence with the competent authority, identifier, and date, was not stated on the reviewed page. Illegality not established.

 

EU: Centrally approved ATMPs – rest of the European Union

Level 1: ATMPs in the EU are generally approved centrally through the EMA and European Commission. The approval is valid throughout the EU. This table lists current approvals; withdrawn or expired approvals such as Alofisel are not included.

NameProductIndicationRegulatory status
Holostem S.r.l., Italien HOLOCLAR – ex vivo expanded autologous corneal epithelial cells with limbal stem cells Moderate to severe limbal stem cell deficiency following chemical eye injuries/burns Central EU approval: yes. Marketing Authorisation since 17.02.2015. ATMP / Tissue Engineered Product. EMA/European Commission.
Atara Biotherapeutics / Pierre Fabre Medicament, EU EBVALLO – tabelecleucel; allogeneic EBV-specific T cells EBV-positive post-transplant lymphoproliferative disease Central EU approval: yes. ATMP / somatic cell therapy. EMA/European Commission. Approval valid throughout the EU.
Cordex Biologics International Ltd., Irland ZEMCELPRO – ex vivo expanded allogeneic CD34-positive hematopoietic stem/progenitor cells with non-expanded cell fraction Allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplantation in patients without a suitable donor Conditional central EU approval: yes, 25.08.2025. EMA/European Commission. Additional study and registry requirements.
Fondazione Telethon / Orchard Therapeutics WASKYRA – etuvetidigene autotemcel; genetically modified autologous hematopoietic stem cells Wiskott-Aldrich syndrome Central EU approval: yes, 09.01.2026. Gene Therapy Medicinal Product / ATMP. EMA/European Commission.
Novartis KYMRIAH – tisagenlecleucel; autologous CD19 CAR-T cells B-cell ALL and various B-cell lymphomas Central EU approval: yes. ATMP / gene therapy. EMA/European Commission.
Kite Pharma / Gilead YESCARTA – axicabtagene ciloleucel; autologous CD19 CAR-T cells Certain B-cell lymphomas Central EU approval: yes. ATMP / gene therapy. EMA/European Commission.
Kite Pharma / Gilead TECARTUS – brexucabtagene autoleucel Mantle cell lymphoma and B-cell ALL Central EU approval: yes. CAR-T / ATMP.
Bristol Myers Squibb BREYANZI – lisocabtagene maraleucel Various relapsed/refractory B-cell lymphomas Central EU approval: yes. CAR-T / ATMP.
Bristol Myers Squibb ABECMA – idecabtagene vicleucel Multiple myeloma Central EU approval: yes. BCMA CAR-T / ATMP.
Janssen / Johnson & Johnson CARVYKTI – ciltacabtagene autoleucel Multiple myeloma Central EU approval: yes. BCMA CAR-T / ATMP.
Vertex Pharmaceuticals / CRISPR Therapeutics CASGEVY – exagamglogene autotemcel; CRISPR/Cas9-edited autologous hematopoietic stem cells Sickle cell disease and transfusion-dependent β-thalassemia Central EU approval: yes. Gene-edited cell therapy / ATMP.
Orchard Therapeutics LIBMELDY – atidarsagene autotemcel; genetically modified autologous hematopoietic stem cells Metachromatic leukodystrophy Central EU approval: yes. Gene Therapy Medicinal Product.
PTC Therapeutics UPSTAZA – eladocagene exuparvovec AADC deficiency Central EU approval: yes. Gene therapy / ATMP.
Novartis ZOLGENSMA – onasemnogene abeparvovec Spinal muscular atrophy Central EU approval: yes. Gene therapy / ATMP.
Roche LUXTURNA – voretigene neparvovec Inherited retinal dystrophy caused by biallelic RPE65 mutations Central EU approval: yes. Gene therapy / ATMP.
Autolus Therapeutics AUCATZYL – obecabtagene autoleucel Relapsed/refractory B-cell ALL Central EU approval: yes. CAR-T / ATMP.

 

USA: FDA-approved cell, stem cell, and tissue products

Tier 1: This category corresponds to the highest level of regulatory assurance according to InCelligence criteria. The products have FDA approval or a Biological License Application (BLA) under Section 351 of the Public Health Service Act. The FDA evaluates the specific product, including manufacturing, quality, safety, and efficacy. Clinical trials and IND-only applications are not listed in this overview.

NameProductIndicationRegulatory status
Vericel Corporation MACI – autologous cultured chondrocytes on a collagen membrane Symptomatic full-thickness cartilage defects of the knee joint in adults FDA approval/BLA 125603: yes. Original approval: 13.12.2016. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. Section 351(a). FDA documentation available online: yes.
Mesoblast, Inc. RYONCIL® – remestemcel-L-rknd; allogeneic bone marrow-derived mesenchymal stromal cells Steroid-refractory acute graft-versus-host disease in pediatric patients 2 months of age and older FDA approval/BLA 125706: yes. Approval: 18.12.2024. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA-approved MSC cell product. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Axogen Corporation AVANCE® – acellular nerve allograft-arwx Peripheral nerve discontinuities in adults and children one month of age and older FDA approval/BLA 125816: yes. Approval: 03.12.2025. Traditional approval for sensory defects ≤25 mm; partial Accelerated Approval for larger as well as mixed and motor nerve defects. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Humacyte Global, Inc. SYMVESS® – acellular tissue-engineered vessel Vascular replacement for arterial extremity injuries when urgent revascularization is necessary and an autologous vein is not available FDA approval/BLA 125812: yes. Approval: 19.12.2024. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. Tissue-engineered biologic. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Stratatech Corporation STRATAGRAFT® – allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts on collagen Thermal burns with intact dermal elements in adults FDA approval/BLA 125730: yes. Original approval: 15.06.2021. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Enzyvant Therapeutics RETHYMIC® – allogeneic processed thymus tissue Immune reconstitution in pediatric patients with congenital athymia FDA approval/BLA 125685: yes. Approval: 08.10.2021. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Abeona Therapeutics, Inc. ZEVASKYN® – prademagene zamikeracel; autologous genetically modified cell sheets Wounds in recessive dystrophic epidermolysis bullosa FDA approval/BLA 125807: yes. Approval: 28.04.2025. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. Cell-based gene therapy. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Neurotech Pharmaceuticals, Inc. ENCELTO® – revakinagene taroretcel-lwey; encapsulated genetically modified human cells Idiopathic macular telangiectasia type 2 in adults FDA approval/BLA 125798: yes. Approval: 05.03.2025. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Orca Biosystems, Inc. TREGZI® – allogeneic regulatory T-cell immunotherapy with HSPCs and T cells Matched-donor hematopoietic stem cell transplantation in adults with hematologic malignancies; improvement of cGVHD-free survival FDA approval/BLA 125868: yes. Approval: 30.06.2026. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Iovance Biotherapeutics, Inc. AMTAGVI® – lifileucel; autologous tumor-infiltrating T lymphocytes Unresectable or metastatic melanoma after prior systemic therapy FDA approval/BLA 125773: yes. Accelerated Approval: 16.02.2024. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Adaptimmune LLC TECELRA® – afamitresgene autoleucel; genetically modified autologous T cells Unresectable or metastatic synovial sarcoma with an appropriate HLA and MAGE-A4 profile FDA approval/BLA 125789: yes. Original approval: 01.08.2024; Indication expanded in 2026. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Autolus, Inc. AUCATZYL® – obecabtagene autoleucel; autologous CAR T cells Relapsed or refractory B-cell precursor ALL in adults FDA approval/BLA 125813: yes. Original approval: 08.11.2024. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation KYMRIAH® – tisagenlecleucel; autologous CD19 CAR T cells B-cell ALL and certain relapsed or refractory B-cell lymphomas FDA approval/BLA 125646: yes. Original approval: 30.08.2017. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Kite Pharma, Inc. YESCARTA® – axicabtagene ciloleucel; autologous CD19 CAR T cells Certain relapsed or refractory B-cell lymphomas FDA approval/BLA 125643: yes. Original approval: 18.10.2017. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Kite Pharma, Inc. TECARTUS® – brexucabtagene autoleucel; autologous CD19 CAR T cells Relapsed or refractory mantle cell lymphoma and B-cell precursor ALL in adults FDA approval/BLA 125703: yes. Original approval: 24.07.2020. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Celgene Corporation / Bristol Myers Squibb ABECMA® – idecabtagene vicleucel; autologous BCMA CAR T cells Relapsed or refractory multiple myeloma FDA approval/BLA 125736: yes. Original approval: 26.03.2021. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Juno Therapeutics / Bristol Myers Squibb BREYANZI® – lisocabtagene maraleucel; autologous CD19 CAR T cells Various relapsed or refractory B-cell lymphomas FDA approval: yes. Original approval: 05.02.2021. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Janssen Biotech, Inc. CARVYKTI® – ciltacabtagene autoleucel; autologous BCMA CAR T cells Relapsed or refractory multiple myeloma FDA approval/BLA 125746: yes. Original approval: 28.02.2022. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated CASGEVY® – exagamglogene autotemcel; CRISPR/Cas9-edited autologous hematopoietic stem cells Sickle cell disease with recurrent vaso-occlusive crises and transfusion-dependent β-thalassemia FDA approval/BLA: yes. Initial approval: 08.12.2023; TDT: 16.01.2024; Expansion to patients 2 years of age and older: 01.07.2026. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
bluebird bio, Inc. ZYNTEGLO® – betibeglogene autotemcel; genetically modified autologous hematopoietic stem cells Transfusion-dependent β-thalassemia FDA approval/BLA 125717: yes. Approval: 17.08.2022. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
bluebird bio, Inc. SKYSONA® – elivaldogene autotemcel; genetically modified autologous hematopoietic stem cells Early active cerebral adrenoleukodystrophy in boys FDA approval/BLA 125755: yes. Original approval: 16.09.2022. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA notes an increased risk of hematologic malignancies; labeling was changed accordingly in 2025. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Orchard Therapeutics LENMELDY® – atidarsagene autotemcel; genetically modified autologous hematopoietic stem cells Certain presymptomatic or early symptomatic forms of metachromatic leukodystrophy FDA approval/BLA 125758: yes. Original approval: 18.03.2024. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
bluebird bio, Inc. LYFGENIA® – lovotibeglogene autotemcel; genetically modified autologous hematopoietic stem cells Sickle cell disease in patients 12 years of age and older with vaso-occlusive events FDA approval/BLA 125788: yes. Approval: 08.12.2023. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Fondazione Telethon ETS WASKYRA® – etuvetidigene autotemcel; genetically corrected autologous hematopoietic stem cells Wiskott-Aldrich syndrome in eligible patients without a matched related stem cell donor FDA approval/BLA 125846: yes. Approval: 09.12.2025. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Rocket Pharmaceuticals, Inc. KRESLADI® – marnetegragene autotemcel; autologous genetically modified hematopoietic stem cells Severe Leukocyte Adhesion Deficiency I in pediatric patients without a matched sibling donor FDA approval/BLA 125806: yes. Accelerated Approval: 26.03.2026. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
SSM Cardinal Glennon Children's Medical Center ALLOCORD® – HPC, Cord Blood Allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplantation for congenital, acquired, or treatment-related disorders of the hematopoietic system FDA approval/BLA 125413: yes. Original approval: 30.05.2013. Section 351(a). Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Cleveland Cord Blood Center CLEVECORD® – HPC, Cord Blood Allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplantation FDA approval/BLA 125594: yes. Original approval: 01.09.2016. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Duke University School of Medicine DUCORD – HPC, Cord Blood Allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplantation FDA approval/BLA 125407: yes. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. Current Approval Letters, including 2026, available online. FDA documentation available online: yes.
New York Blood Center, Inc. HEMACORD® – HPC, Cord Blood Allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplantation for disorders of the hematopoietic system FDA approval/BLA 125397: yes. Original approval: 10.11.2011. Section 351(a). Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Clinimmune Labs / University of Colorado Cord Blood Bank HPC, Cord Blood Allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplantation FDA approval/BLA 125391: yes. Original approval: 24.05.2012. Section 351(a). Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
MD Anderson Cord Blood Bank HPC, Cord Blood Allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplantation FDA approval/BLA 125657: yes. Approval: 21.06.2018. Section 351(a). Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
LifeSouth Community Blood Centers, Inc. HPC, Cord Blood Allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplantation FDA approval/BLA 125432: yes. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
Bloodworks HPC, Cord Blood Allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplantation FDA approval/BLA 125585: yes. Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.
StemCyte, Inc. REGENECYTE® – HPC, Cord Blood Allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplantation FDA approval/BLA 125764: yes. Original approval: 20./21.11.2024. Section 351(a). Regulatory authority: FDA/CBER. FDA documentation available online: yes.

 

US: FDA-registered HCT/P tissue establishments without a product-specific BLA

Tier 3: Certain Human Cells, Tissues, and Cellular and Tissue-Based Products (HCT/Ps) in the USA may be regulated solely under Section 361 of the Public Health Service Act and 21 CFR Part 1271 if, in particular, the requirements for minimal manipulation and homologous use are met. The establishments must be registered with the FDA and are subject to Current Good Tissue Practice (CGTP). In the US HCT/P system, FDA registration of an establishment or listing of a product expressly constitutes neither regulatory approval nor confirmation of regulatory compliance: FDA registration merely means that the establishment or HCT/P is recorded in the registration system; it does not include prior review or approval of the product by the FDA and also does not confirm that the regulatory requirements are actually met. These establishments are not subject to FDA oversight, unlike German institutions that have a GMP / GFP authorization.

NameProductIndicationRegulatory status
Axogen, Inc. / Axogen Processing Center, Ohio Avive+ Soft Tissue Matrix and human tissue products; AVANCE now separately approved under a BLA Surgical tissue protection or reconstruction; depending on the product FDA Tissue Establishment Registration: yes. Processing of human tissues under 21 CFR Part 1271. The company reports FDA- and AATB-regulated tissue processes. AVANCE was separately approved as a biologic on 03.12.2025 and is therefore listed above in Tier 1. Registration alone does not constitute product approval.
Solvita / Community Blood Center, Dayton, Ohio Processing of Avive+ Soft Tissue Matrix and other human tissues, among others Surgical tissue and reconstructive applications FDA-registered Tissue Establishment: yes. AATB-accredited. Current contractual processing of HCT/Ps through at least the end of 2026 is publicly documented. CGTP/21 CFR Part 1271. No general FDA product approval based on registration.
LifeNet Health, Virginia / Washington Human bone, soft tissue, cardiovascular, and other allograft tissues Orthopedic, spinal, cardiovascular, and reconstructive applications FDA-registered establishments; current FDA Establishment Registration for LifeNet locations in 2026 is publicly verifiable. HCT/P products, some of which are additionally regulated as medical devices. Eine Registrierung allein bedeutet keine produktspezifische FDA approval.
Amnion LLC, Sterling, Virginia Amnion/placental tissue and human tissue products Homologous tissue applications according to the respective product FDA Tissue Establishment Registration nach Herstellerangaben: ja; AATB-accredited. In addition, various state tissue bank licenses. FDA registration does not constitute approval of a drug or biologic.

 

US: Providers with significant regulatory warning signs officially documented by authorities

Tier 4: In this category, there is not merely missing information, but specific regulatory objections by the FDA. The classification refers exclusively to the products and circumstances named in the respective FDA Warning Letters. It is not an assessment of the entire establishment beyond this.

NameProductIndicationRegulatory status / notable findings
Blue Horizon International, LLC, Hackensack, New Jersey Allogeneic umbilical cord blood stem cell products and exosome products derived from Wharton's jelly MSCs Advertised on the website for numerous neurological, cardiovascular, musculoskeletal, and other diseases FDA Warning Letter dated 26.05.2026, CBER 26-728085. FDA found that the advertised products do not meet the requirements for regulation solely as 361-HCT/Ps and that regulatory requirements for drugs/biologics are relevant. FDA approval of the advertised exosome products: no.
R3 Medical Companies / R3 Stem Cell, LLC Umbilical cord/Wharton's jelly products, stem cell and exosome therapies Various regenerative and disease-related applications FDA Warning Letter dated 14.08.2026. FDA found that several products apparently do not meet the requirements of 21 CFR 1271.10(a) for regulation solely as 361-HCT/Ps and may be subject to premarket approval as drugs or biological products.
Dynamic Stem Cell Therapy, Henderson, Nevada Allogeneic umbilical cord stem cell product; additionally exosomes Various regenerative applications FDA Warning Letter dated 11.02.2026, CBER 25-712579. FDA documented, among other things, violations in the marketing of the umbilical cord product and additional regulatory concerns regarding advertised exosomes. FDA notes that therapeutic exosome products are generally subject to drug and biologics approval requirements.
New Life Medical Services, LLC, Florida Restor+, Regain, Renyte; ReCyte/Cytosomes; Rexo exosomes and other umbilical cord/amnion products Various regenerative applications FDA Warning Letter dated 24.09.2025, CBER 25-711102. FDA described the named products as unapproved new drugs and unlicensed biological products. FDA approval/BLA: no.
Supreme Rejuvenation, LLC, Houston, Texas Exosomes from human umbilical cord MSCs, including exosome gel Regenerative or therapeutic applications FDA Warning Letter dated 05.05.2025, CBER 25-700749. FDA described the products as unapproved new drugs and unlicensed biological products. FDA further states that there are currently no FDA-approved exosome products.
Akan Biosciences, Inc., Gaithersburg, Maryland Ayama™ – allogeneic adipose tissue-derived stromal vascular fraction cell product Regenerative applications FDA Warning Letter dated 30.04.2024. FDA inspection documented the manufacture of an allogeneic adipose-derived SVF cell product. The FDA raised objections regarding regulatory and manufacturing aspects. A regular FDA BLA for the product was not in place.
Mother Stem Institute, Corp. Autologous SVF from adipose tissue after enzymatic processing Alzheimer's disease, diabetes, osteoarthritis, Parkinson's disease, lupus, and rheumatoid arthritis, among others, were advertised FDA Warning Letter dated 20.08.2024. FDA documented enzymatic processing of adipose tissue into SVF and intravenous applications for numerous diseases. According to the FDA's assessment, the described scope of manufacturing and use exceeded the requirements for simple 361-HCT/P regulation.

 

Canada: Approved cell, stem cell, and gene therapy products

Tier 1: These products have medicinal product approval from Health Canada in the form of a Notice of Compliance (NOC) or Notice of Compliance with Conditions (NOC/c). This approval must be clearly distinguished from the mere registration of a cell or tissue establishment.

NameProductIndicationRegulatory status
Osiris Therapeutics / Mesoblast PROCHYMAL® (remestemcel-L) – allogeneic bone marrow-derived mesenchymal stromal cells Acute graft-versus-host disease in pediatric patients Health Canada NOC/c: yes. Notice of Compliance: 17.05.2012. Biological cell therapy product. DIN 02386380. Health Canada evaluated quality, safety, and efficacy; approval was granted subject to conditions.
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Canada Inc. KYMRIAH® – tisagenlecleucel; autologous CD19 CAR T cells B-cell ALL and certain relapsed/refractory B-cell lymphomas Health Canada approval: yes. Biological medicinal product/CAR T-cell therapy. Indication expansions partly under NOC/c; for example, follicular lymphoma with NOC/c dated 19.12.2022.
Gilead Sciences Canada Inc. YESCARTA® – axicabtagene ciloleucel; autologous CD19 CAR T cells Certain relapsed or refractory B-cell lymphomas Health Canada approval: yes. CAR T-cell therapy. Certain indication expansions under NOC/c; regulatory oversight by Health Canada.
Celgene / Bristol Myers Squibb Canada ABECMA® – idecabtagene vicleucel; autologous BCMA CAR T cells Relapsed or refractory multiple myeloma Health Canada NOC/c: yes, 26.05.2021 for the original approval. Biological cell therapy product.
Janssen Inc. CARVYKTI® – ciltacabtagene autoleucel; autologous BCMA CAR T cells Relapsed or refractory multiple myeloma Health Canada approval/NOC/c: yes. Regulatory oversight by Health Canada; certain approval steps were subject to conditions.

 

CA: Registered cell, tissue, and organ establishments without product-specific medicinal product approval

Tier 3: Establishments that process, distribute, or import cells, tissues, or organs under the Canadian CTO Regulations may be registered with Health Canada. This registration documents the regulatory registration of the establishment and the application of the CTO safety requirements, but does not constitute approval of a specific cell or tissue product as a medicinal product. These establishments are not subject to regulatory authority oversight, unlike German establishments with GMP / GFP authorizations.

NameProductIndicationRegulatory status
Health Canada-registered CTO Source Establishments Human cells, tissues, and organs for transplantation Transplantation medicine; depending on the respective establishment and tissue CTO registration: yes, if included in the current Health Canada list. Regulation under the Safety of Human Cells, Tissues and Organs for Transplantation Regulations. Registration does not confirm approval of an individual product and is not equivalent to an NOC/NOC-c.

 

Japan: Approved regenerative medical products

Tier 1: Japan has its own medicinal product category for regenerative medical products. The products are evaluated by PMDA and approved by the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare. In addition to regular approvals, time-limited or conditional approvals exist; these are identified as such.

NameProductIndicationRegulatory status
Japan Tissue Engineering Co., Ltd. (J-TEC) JACE – autologous cultured epidermal cell sheet Severe burns and other approved skin indications Approved regenerative medical product in Japan. Initial approval 2007. Authority: MHLW following PMDA evaluation.
Japan Tissue Engineering Co., Ltd. (J-TEC) JACC – autologous cultured cartilage tissue Cartilage defects Approved regenerative medical product. Initial approval 2012; indication changed/expanded in 2025. Authority: MHLW/PMDA.
JCR Pharmaceuticals / Nipro TEMCELL® HS – allogeneic bone marrow-derived mesenchymal stromal cells Acute graft-versus-host disease Approved: September 2015. Regenerative medical product. Authority: MHLW/PMDA.
Nipro Corporation Stemirac – autologous bone marrow-derived mesenchymal stem cells Neurological functional impairments after spinal cord injury Conditional and time-limited approval since December 2018. Authority: MHLW/PMDA.
Japan Tissue Engineering Co., Ltd. (J-TEC) NEPIC – autologous corneal limbal epithelial cell sheet Limbal stem cell deficiency Approved: March 2020. Regenerative medical product. Authority: MHLW/PMDA.
Japan Tissue Engineering Co., Ltd. (J-TEC) OCURAL – autologous oral mucosal epithelial cell sheet Severe ocular surface diseases / limbal stem cell deficiency Approved: June 2021. Authority: MHLW/PMDA.
Notifier/manufacturer according to Japanese approval SAKRACY – autologous oral mucosal epithelial cell sheet on amniotic membrane Ocular surface diseases Approved: January 2022. Regenerative medical product. Authority: MHLW/PMDA.
Cuorips Inc. RiHEART – allogeneic iPS cell-derived cardiomyocyte cell sheet Severe ischemic cardiomyopathy / heart failure according to the approval Approved: 06.03.2026. Conditional/time-limited approval with a seven-year term. Authority: MHLW/PMDA.
Fujifilm Toyama Chemical Co., Ltd. Seiviscus – autologous synovial mesenchymal stem cells Cartilage/orthopedic indication according to Japanese product approval Approved: 08.05.2026. Approval number 30800FZX00005000. Authority: MHLW/PMDA.
Ishin Pharma Co., Ltd. Allostem Sheet – nivadstrocel Regenerative medical application according to the approved indication Approved: 03.04.2026. Approval number 30800FZX00003000. Authority: MHLW/PMDA.

 

JP: Regenerative treatments under the Act on the Safety of Regenerative Medicine without product approval

Tier 3: Japan permits certain regenerative treatments outside regular product approval under the Act on the Safety of Regenerative Medicine. Medical institutions must submit a Regenerative Medicine Provision Plan for this purpose; different levels of review and oversight apply depending on the risk class. Government registration or notification of a treatment plan is not approval of the cell product used.

NameProductIndicationRegulatory status
EIMY CLINIC, Sapporo Autologous adipose stem cell treatment Anti-aging treatment for atherosclerosis Regenerative Medicine Provision Plan listed in the official MHLW system, Class II. Review by a certified special Regenerative Medicine committee. No PMDA/MHLW product approval based on this listing.
EIMY CLINIC, Sapporo NK cell therapy Cancer treatment/prevention and anti-aging according to the specified treatment plan Listed in the official MHLW system as a Class III Regenerative Medicine plan. The listing confirms a submitted treatment plan, not approval of the cell product.

 

CH: ATMPs and transplant products approved by Swissmedic

Tier 1: Standardized transplant products, somatic cell therapies, tissue-engineered products, and gene therapies are subject to approval by Swissmedic in Switzerland. Substantially manipulated cells – for example after cell culture or expansion – are generally assigned to the category of transplant products/ATMPs.

NameProductIndicationRegulatory status
Novartis Pharma Schweiz AG KYMRIAH – tisagenlecleucel; autologous CD19 CAR T cells B-cell ALL and certain B-cell lymphomas Swissmedic approval: yes. Approval number 66778. Initial approval: 18.10.2018. Genetically modified autologous cell therapy.
Gilead Sciences Switzerland YESCARTA – axicabtagene ciloleucel; autologous CD19 CAR T cells Relapsed/refractory aggressive B-cell lymphomas Swissmedic approval: yes. Approval number 66986. Initial approval: 17.04.2019.
Novartis Pharma Schweiz AG LUXTURNA – voretigene neparvovec Inherited retinal dystrophy due to biallelic RPE65 mutations Swissmedic approval: yes. Approval number 67371. Approval date: 14.02.2020. Gene therapy.
Bristol Myers Squibb BREYANZI – lisocabtagene maraleucel; autologous CD19 CAR T cells Various relapsed/refractory B-cell lymphomas Swissmedic approval: yes. Initial approval: 28.02.2022. Further indication expansions in 2025 and 2026.
Janssen-Cilag AG CARVYKTI – ciltacabtagene autoleucel; autologous BCMA CAR T cells Relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma Swissmedic approval: yes. Initial approval: 08.08.2022. Indication expansion: 21.10.2024. Swissmedic monitors the product as part of pharmacovigilance.

 

Disclaimer and transparency

Dr. Nicole Kühl is a cell culture, ATMP, and GMP consultant. She advises companies on cell culture, ATMPs, GMP, and quality management, among other areas, supports the development and optimization of bioassays, and provides specialist courses in these areas. Dr. Nicole Kühl has worked for several of the companies listed on this page or continues to provide consulting services to them. These business relationships have no influence on whether a company is included in this overview or how its regulatory status is classified according to the InCelligence criteria described here.

All information on this page is based exclusively on publicly available information, in particular information from regulatory authorities, public registers, approval and authorization data, and publicly available information from the respective establishments and companies. Despite careful research, no guarantee can be given for the completeness, timeliness, and accuracy of all information. To the extent permitted by law, Dr. Nicole Kühl cannot accept responsibility for incorrect classifications resulting from incomplete, outdated, or inaccurate publicly available information.

 

Further information

 

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.